top of page
  • Writer's pictureJimena Rosas

The Maple Tree

Hello my love. How are you? I’m sorry I haven’t come to visit you in a while. It’s just…been hard to come back here. The place we met, fell in love, and where you proposed to me. I remember all the great times we shared near this tree. Do you remember when we first met here? I do. This was our favorite place to sit and read. We found it funny how we had the same hobby in the same place. You would joke around that it was faith. Guess it really was faith. Three weeks later we started dating. Do you remember our favorite dates near this tree? I do. We would come up here to have a calming picnic with our favorite book to read. I remember us cuddling while we read the book. Do you remember my love? I was so happy with you. You were the kindest person I’ve met. You would help others, not caring if it would earn you a reward. Because what mattered to you wasn’t that you would get something for helping others, but that others were just as happy as you. And I love you for that. You also made me very happy. You treated me like a queen and made me feel special and happy everyday. I don’t know how I ended up with a kind man like you. I was the luckiest woman in the world. I thought things couldn’t get any better. I was wrong about that too. Do you remember the day I said yes? I do, my love. We came to the tree again. Our special place. You told me to close my eyes. I was nervous and didn’t know what to expect. Then you told me to open them, and I saw it. I couldn’t imagine what you were holding. I was so happy that day. It was the happiest day of my life. I remember immediately saying yes while jumping into your arms. I couldn’t believe we were about to be together forever. We even had our engagement celebration here. This tree meant so much to us. It was the symbol of our love, and it still is. We were going to have our wedding here as well. I miss you more every day my love. Why did you have to leave me? I’m so lonely without you. I’m trying my hardest to move on, because I know that’s what you would’ve wanted. Coming to this tree was the hardest thing to do. I couldn’t imagine coming here without you. Because this is our tree. Our love story. But I remember you telling me no matter how much the leaves change and leave the tree, the tree never changes. And that’s true about our love. Our life together may have changed but our love is still here. And I promise to keep coming to this tree until I’m reunited with you. This maple tree is everlasting, as is our love. I love you so much my love.    

 


3 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page